Press Releases

News from the Diocese of Southwark

Tenth Dean of Southwark announced

30 Oct 2011

Diocesan Director of Communications

Tel: 020 7939 9400
Mobile: 07831 694021
Fax: 020 7939 9468

The Bishop of Southwark, the Rt Revd Christopher Chessun has appointed the Revd Canon Andrew Nunn, Sub-Dean and Precentor of Southwark Cathedral as the tenth Dean of Southwark. He succeeds The Very Revd Colin Slee who died in office in November 2010.Canon Nunn has been Acting Dean of Southwark since that date.  

Andrew Nunn (54) was born in Leicester and was ordained deacon in Ripon Cathedral in 1983.He served his curacy at St James Manton, in the Diocese of Ripon and was priested in 1984. Following this he became Curate-in Charge of St Hilda, Richmond Hill, Ripon.Whilst there he also served as Chaplain to Agnes Stewart CE High School, Leeds.He became Vicar of Richmond Hill, Ripon in 1991 continuing as Chaplain to Agnes Stewart School.  

He was appointed Chaplain to the Bishop of Southwark in 1995 and became Sub-Dean of Southwark Cathedral in 1999.Andrew Nunn is Warden of Readers in Southwark Diocese, teaches on various courses and is actively involved in the life of schools local to Southwark Cathedral, being a Foundation Governor of St Saviour's & St Olave's Girls School.In addition, he is a member of the Church of England's General Synod and Chaplain to the Synod, is a member of the Liturgical Commission and is presently Rector General of the Society of Catholic Priests.  

Commenting on the appointment the Bishop of Southwark said, 'I am delighted to appoint Canon Andrew Nunn as the next Dean of Southwark. He is a gifted and wise pastor who has led the Cathedral during a very challenging year with grace and compassion. He has a strong vision for the future of the Cathedral and its engagement with the parish within which it stands and in developing its role as Mother Church in the wider Diocese.He knows the Diocese well having served within it for over 15 years.I look forward to welcoming him to his new role and to working with him as he becomes part of the Bishop's Staff team'.  

Andrew Nunn says, 'I am humbled and excited by the challenge of being Dean of this vibrant and busy place, where it has been a privilege to serve.I look forward to working with my colleagues as we seek to draw closer to the other parishes in the Diocese and to help to lead the Diocese in its mission and ministry. Southwark Cathedral is proud of its tradition of welcome for all and I look forward to helping to ensure that it stands as a beacon of love and hope for people in the parish and the Diocese'.  

Outside of church, Andrew enjoys reading, the theatre, art galleries and spending time with friends over a good meal and a glass of wine!  

He will be installed as Dean of Southwark at Choral Evensong at 3pm on Saturday 21 January 2012.    

Pictures of the announcement can be found on the Diocesan photostream on Flickr:

Brief biography The Revd Canon Andrew Nunn

1957:  Born, Leicester 
1975-1979: Leicester Polytechnic, BA (Hons) Public Administration
1979-1980: Wellingborough Borough Council Housing Department Rent Collector
1980-1982: Leeds University, BA (Hons) Theology and Religious Studies
1980-1983: College of the Resurrection, Mirfield GME
1983-1987: Assistant Curate, St James, Manston, Ripon
1987-1991: Curate-in-Charge, St Hilda, Richmond Hill, Ripon
1987-1995: Chaplain, Agnes Stewart CE High School, Leeds
1991-1995: Vicar, Richmond Hill, Ripon
1995-1999: Chaplain and Personal Assistant to the Bishop of Southwark
1995-1999: Priest Vicar, Southwark Cathedral
1999-2000: Vice Provost and Precentor, Southwark Cathedral
2000- Sub Dean and Precentor, Southwark Cathedral
2000- Honorary Chaplain and Honorary Liveryman, the Worshipful Company of Launderers
2001- Diocesan Warden of Readers
2005- Proctor in Convocation, General Synod
2007- Honorary Chaplain the Whisters Club
2008- Rector General of the Society of Catholic Priests
2009- Chair of the Precentors' Conference
2011- Chaplain to the General Synod
2011- Member of the Liturgical Commission
2011- Member of the Crown Nominations Commission